English | Español
Latest News

16 Scholarships totaling $48,000 to be presented by the Lake Chelan Valley Scholarship Foundation

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+

A scholarship presentation by the Lake Chelan Valley Scholarship Foundation will take place on Saturday, August 5 at 10 a.m. at Riverwalk Park. The group will be presenting 16 scholarships to Chelan and Manson area students. (Stock image)

The Lake Chelan Valley Scholarship Foundation (LCVSF) will award 16 student scholarships this Saturday, August 5 in the amount of $3,000 each. The recipients include:

  • Six members of Chelan High School’s Class of 2017: Sierra Burkhard, Henry Elsner, Addie Ivory, Anabeth Morales, Jessica Oules, and Celeste Verduzco
  • Two members of Manson High School’s Class of 2017: Bowen Charlton and Aurelio Gutierrez
  • Eight renewals by previous recipients: Drew Carleton, Neil Carleton, Ivan DeJesus-Ramierrez, Melena Evig, Kristen Gibson, Abbigail Phelps, Megan Robinson and Tess Young

“We had some great applications this year, and we’re especially pleased that so many of our previous recipients are doing so well in school,” noted LCVSF board member Barry Wise. “A slightly smaller pool of applicants plus continued growth of our fund allowed us to give both the largest awards, $3,000 each, and the highest total amount, $48,000, ever.”

The awards will be presented at Riverwalk Park in Chelan on Saturday, August 5 at 10 a.m. Please join the LCVSF to celebrate the achievements of these young scholars.

The LCVSF was made possible by Doug and Eva Dewar, who wished that their estates be used to help the children of the Chelan Valley. LCVSF was founded in 1991, and in that year five scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each were awarded. The fund has grown substantially over the years from contributions from many people, but especially significant contributions from John Gladney, Ray Bumgardner, Don & Betty Schmitten, Marian McFadden, Virginia Husted, the Dick Slaugenhaupt Memorial, and Irma Keeney.

LCVSF accepts applications from residents of the Chelan Valley for undergraduate education. The awards are renewable for up to four years. LCVSF welcomes applications from graduating high school seniors, as well as current college students and adults returning to school.

The LCVSF board includes Betsy Kronschnabel (President), Arthur Campbell, III, Linda Mayer (Secretary), Sue Clouse, Barry M. Wise, Ph.D. and John Pleyte, M.D. (Treasurer).

(Submitted by Barry Wise)




Leave a comment

Share This